RotoZip Spiral Saw

Deal Score0

$64.00 $128.05

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Rotozip SS355-10 5.5 Amp High Speed Spiral Saw System with 2 Accessories - $64.00
Price history
×
Price history for Rotozip SS355-10 5.5 Amp High Speed Spiral Saw System with 2 Accessories
Latest updates:
  • $64.00 - January 9, 2020
  • $42.49 - December 28, 2019
  • $72.99 - December 14, 2019
  • $69.99 - December 10, 2019
  • $72.83 - December 1, 2019
  • $72.89 - November 9, 2019
  • $72.99 - November 5, 2019
  • $72.98 - November 3, 2019
Since: July 25, 2019
  • Highest Price: $74.36 - October 5, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $42.49 - December 28, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: January 25, 2020 11:48 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

I have always been a fan of the RotoZip — the original RotoZip was such a cool tool and I remember cuttings tons of projects with the RotoZip — even a pumpkin, which worked great!

One of my biggest pet-peeves is never having the right tool at hand or have too many tools to do a simple job. How great is it to have a single tool to complete a long list of different jobs. Everything from cutting wood, removing grout, to grinding metal. The RotoZip SAW+ Variable-Speed Spiral Saw Kit is a handy and versatile power-tool that can easily travel with you and can complete many different jobs with ease.

The RotoZip Spiral Saw allows you to easily cut laminate or solid surface counters, steel, copper, and aluminum and wood just to list a few materials which all depends on the type of saw or zipbit used. The saw features a variable speed control to allow for better control and more precision cuts. Attachments for the Rotozip connect quickly and changing out bits and blades is very easy too. Additionally, as with many power tools dust can be a big issue and the RotoZip offers a dust management accessory which allows user to connect the output directly to a vacuum — which I highly recommend taking advantage of.

Having used other power tools like a circular saw and rotary tools it was time to put the RotoZip Saw+ to the test.

Setup
Setting up the tool and accessories was very easy, although I do recommend reading the instructions first as the way some of the accessories attach and lock in place was a bit tricky at first – same went for attaching and removing the saw blades.

My First Cuts
First I tested the traditional (Rotozip) rotary tool with the standard wood bit. This system is definitely bigger and more powerful then my original Rotozip and having the variable speed control was excellent. At first, it took some time getting comfortable holding the RotoZip and also finding the best height and angles to work on my project – it seems the best is really a work- bench but it is versatile enough to work in any application – you just need to get in a comfortable position. Also, unless it is a huge piece of plywood or you are cutting drywall I highly recommend that you fasten your cutting medium down to your work area – this will help ensure safety and precision cuts – also Safety glasses are a great idea too.

I drew a few easy patterns and took to them. I used the included height adjustment which made it very helpful while cutting along the design. Cutting was a breeze and the cuts came out – well, pretty good for the first attempt. I recommend that you do some tests before taking to the final project as you need to get use to how the RotoZip moves and handles while cutting different materials. Once I did some more tests I was able to get the precise cuts I wanted. For my test, I also cut drywall to place a light switch box. (Now keep in mind you should not use this tool or be very careful if cutting drywall with electrical or pipes behind it). The RotoZip also offers a grout removal bit which makes it a cinch to remove old pesky grout so you can quickly and easily re-grout floors.

Using the Spiral Saw Attachment
The spiral saw attachment can be used just like a circular saw or can be adjusted to make flat cuts too. The saw which also utilizes the variable speeds for precision cuts offers a variety of cutting blades for different materials including wood, metals, concrete and tile. You can also uses this at almost any comfortable angle too and is small enough to get into hard to reach areas or places you would never get a circular saw into.

[carousel arrows=”display”]
[panel title=”Rotozip Spiral Saw+ 1″] [/panel]
[panel title=”Rotozip Spiral Saw+ 2″] [/panel]
[panel title=”Rotozip Spiral Saw+ 3″] [/panel]

[/carousel]
My first trial was cutting a ½” piece of plywood – on my first trial my speed was not set high-enough and I had to adjust to a quicker setting – which was my fault. Again, make sure your material is secure before cutting otherwise it may shoot away from you and could be dangerous. Cutting the wood I made a few different cuts including one starting at the edge and one that started more towards the middle to create a notch cut. The RotoZip saw has some real torque behind it for sure – I found it a little hard to hold at first before getting use to the power of the saw – also I found that the dust that shot out was insane and having that dust collection feature was great!

Cutting was a little different as usually you would push a circular saw away from you but from what I read and videos I watched when making the cuts you should follow the direction of the blade which means you need to pull the saw.. Although depending on the material, speed and depth of cut you can also make precision cuts moving forward like when cutting tile. This tool is without a doubt a two-hand tool which is reality is great because it has such power.

Durability and Price
The RotoZip + Saw kit uses a 40v constant speed motor, and is constructed using steel and really is designed to be used by both professional contractors and homeowners alike. Having such a powerful motor it does tend to get hot after usage, not unbearably hot, but hot – and same goes for the bits – don’t touch the bit after cutting you won’t like the result.

The tool is well designed and seems very ergonomic and comfortable to use. Additionally, RotoZip offers a huge variety of different bits and blades for almost any application which really make this an essential all in one tool to have. The tool cost around $100 for the full kit which include a nice carrying case a few bits and different saw blades which will really get you up and running in no time.

I’ve always loved my original RotoZip and now this is yet another fantastic power tool as well especially for any homeowner or do-it-yourself types.

RotoZip also has done a good job with demo videos on their website and YouTube channel which were really helpfu –l but more demonstrations would be great too – especially with the wide range of materials you can cut with the product. To see the RotoZip in action be sure to watch our video demo and overview coming soon. In the meantime to see the RotoZip in action visit: RotoZip.com/ZipIt

After using the RotoZip Spiral Saw Kit on a few different materials I give it an overall rating of 4.5 stars out of 5 and this concludes yet another Damn Good Review.

7 Total Score

The RotoZip Spiral Saw+ is an easy to use and very versatile power tool and should be in every-mans tool box.

PROS
  • Easy to use after a few attempts
  • Tons of accessories
  • Extremely Versatile
CONS
  • Gets very hot after long use
  • Need better instructions / videos
Add your review
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Damn Good Reviews - Reviews, How-To, Demos
      Reset Password
      Compare items
      • Cameras (0)
      • Phones (0)
      Compare
      0