Netgear Universal Wifi Extender – WN3000RP – Reviewed

0
Overall score:
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: NETGEAR N300 Wall Plug Version Wi-Fi Range Extender (WN3000RP) - $39.99
Price history
×
Price history for NETGEAR N300 Wall Plug Version Wi-Fi Range Extender (WN3000RP)
Latest updates:
  • $39.99 - December 31, 2017
  • $46.99 - December 27, 2017
  • $46.89 - December 20, 2017
  • $46.91 - December 18, 2017
  • $46.93 - December 14, 2017
  • $46.95 - December 12, 2017
  • $48.98 - December 9, 2017
  • $37.99 - December 7, 2017
Since: July 24, 2017
  • Highest Price: $49.00 - August 18, 2017
  • Lowest Price: $32.95 - August 12, 2017
Last Amazon price update was: January 19, 2018 3:56 am

 

If you live in a bigger home or in a multi-level home and have WiFi I’m sure you have run into problems where the signal is very weak.  When installing a wireless router it is recommended that you install in the highest level of your home as the signal will travel better but everyone I know has their main cable installation in their downstairs and do not want to run the extra cables to extend the network to gain a little better coverage.

In my home I experience very weak signals on my second floor with my normal Wireless N router and in the third level loft unless you are standing in an awkward position you can almost never get a good signal and if I do get a signal it is usually lost after a few minutes.

I have had this issue for sometime now and I’m sure many people can relate and have been wondering about a simple solution to extender their network. I do come from a technical background and understand basic network setup too so first I purchased a standalone wireless access point and that was a huge headache since brands were not the same and configuration never matched — so I have a nice access point paperweight now.

I also thought about purchasing the power-line network extenders but they were just not in my price-range. Still searching for a solution that would easily extend my wireless network I came across the Netgear Universal Wifi Extender which would easily plug-in to an open electric outlet and even had the option to connect using WPS (Wi-fi protected setup) which is available on many new routers.

The Netgear unit arrived and after reading the very simple instructions I was ready for setup. It seemed very simple and no software is needed at all — if you do not have WPS capabilities your can access the router from your computer to connect to your existing network using their step-by-step setup program.  I tried the setup using both connection options and both worked flawless and connected to my existing network almost instantly.

I was very excited since I now checked my signal on my top floors and I had great signal strength everywhere, which I was able to check using Wirelessmon, a signal strength tool  which signal images are  shown at the bottom of this review.

I then tried to access the internet and I was not able to get access as It showed it was a setting issue of some sort. After some quick reading I switched my wireless router to use PSK and the AES settings under my network security setup and then it seemed to work fine. I did have to restart all of my devices once these changes were made — and I also like to setup  mac address filtering so I can regulate which devices are allowed to connect to my network and using the Netgear software was very easy to do this as well.

All of my Network printers work perfectly still and I can choose between my original wifi signal or the extended network signal with a quick click on my network settings.

Overall I was very excited how simple the setup was and that it did not matter what brand my original wireless router was and made for a simple and affordable solution to extend my wireless network all over my home and if you are looking to do the same I highly recommend the Netgear Universal Wifi Extender and give this device One Damn Good Review!

Setup Screen Screenshots

Wireless Signal Strength (In hardest to reach area of home)


Wireless Router

 NetGear Extender

 

Watch the video review:

[youtube url=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XnnEIBqGV4″]

 

8 Total Score

PROS
  • Extend Your Network Range
  • Easy To Use
CONS
  • Setup may be hard for some that are non technical
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
9 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply
    Andrew January 8, 2012 at 2:47 am

    I tried & the problem I’m not having is linking the 2 together

    • Reply
      Damn Good Reviews January 25, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      I would try to change some of the security settings to see f the units connect. If that does not work give the Netgear tech support a call — they are very good at helping solve issues.

  2. Reply
    James Souvie March 25, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    I seriously have been racking my brain and patience on trying to hook this thing up. We don’t have WPS so it seems like this is an impossibility. That, heh, we aren’t that tech-savvy. Any suggestions?

    • Reply
      Damn Good Reviews March 28, 2012 at 12:06 pm

      James, you don’t have to use WPS — as long as you follow the instruction you should be able to connect to your router. Or, just give Netgear a call — they are very good with tech support.

  3. Reply
    Cesar Carvalho April 20, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    I have a Linksys Wrt54G and I only use the MAC address filtering on it. I plug in the Netgear expander and did the setup, but when try to connect using the new_EXT created on the setup, there is no internet signal. What can I do ?

    • Reply
      Damn Good Reviews April 27, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Cesar, I would contact support at Netgear. This sounds like an easy fix but they would be able to explain it better — have you entered the MAC Address from the Netgear extender into the Linksys router?

  4. Reply
    PCPETE May 4, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    I have purchased one of these extenders and all the docs are in German. I am having diferculty trying to setup this extender and would like some english instructions.
    Where can I get then from? even the box pictures are anotated in German, and the item was made in China???.
    Athung!!

  5. Reply
    Steve Payton July 2, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    I bought this range extender and used the wps setup, I had to change the name of it to match my router and tweek the settings so now I have one network instead of 2. The range is really good I can get about 100yds or so away from my house and still connect to my network.

    Leave a reply

    Damn Good Reviews - Reviews, How-To, Demos
    Reset Password
    Compare items
    • Cameras (0)
    • Phones (0)
    Compare
    0