Netgear Universal Wifi Extender – WN3000RP – Reviewed

2
Overall score:
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: NETGEAR N300 Wall Plug Version Wi-Fi Range Extender (WN3000RP) - $36.49
Price history
×
Price history for NETGEAR N300 Wall Plug Version Wi-Fi Range Extender (WN3000RP)
Latest updates:
  • $36.49 - July 20, 2019
  • $36.78 - July 13, 2019
  • $37.03 - July 11, 2019
  • $38.03 - June 28, 2019
  • $40.00 - June 25, 2019
  • $40.83 - June 23, 2019
  • $42.74 - June 22, 2019
  • $48.99 - June 21, 2019
Since: January 17, 2019
  • Highest Price: $54.99 - February 28, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $36.49 - July 20, 2019
Last Amazon price update was: July 20, 2019 11:42 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

 

If you live in a bigger home or in a multi-level home and have WiFi I’m sure you have run into problems where the signal is very weak.  When installing a wireless router it is recommended that you install in the highest level of your home as the signal will travel better but everyone I know has their main cable installation in their downstairs and do not want to run the extra cables to extend the network to gain a little better coverage.

In my home I experience very weak signals on my second floor with my normal Wireless N router and in the third level loft unless you are standing in an awkward position you can almost never get a good signal and if I do get a signal it is usually lost after a few minutes.

I have had this issue for sometime now and I’m sure many people can relate and have been wondering about a simple solution to extender their network. I do come from a technical background and understand basic network setup too so first I purchased a standalone wireless access point and that was a huge headache since brands were not the same and configuration never matched — so I have a nice access point paperweight now.

I also thought about purchasing the power-line network extenders but they were just not in my price-range. Still searching for a solution that would easily extend my wireless network I came across the Netgear Universal Wifi Extender which would easily plug-in to an open electric outlet and even had the option to connect using WPS (Wi-fi protected setup) which is available on many new routers.

The Netgear unit arrived and after reading the very simple instructions I was ready for setup. It seemed very simple and no software is needed at all — if you do not have WPS capabilities your can access the router from your computer to connect to your existing network using their step-by-step setup program.  I tried the setup using both connection options and both worked flawless and connected to my existing network almost instantly.

I was very excited since I now checked my signal on my top floors and I had great signal strength everywhere, which I was able to check using Wirelessmon, a signal strength tool  which signal images are  shown at the bottom of this review.

I then tried to access the internet and I was not able to get access as It showed it was a setting issue of some sort. After some quick reading I switched my wireless router to use PSK and the AES settings under my network security setup and then it seemed to work fine. I did have to restart all of my devices once these changes were made — and I also like to setup  mac address filtering so I can regulate which devices are allowed to connect to my network and using the Netgear software was very easy to do this as well.

All of my Network printers work perfectly still and I can choose between my original wifi signal or the extended network signal with a quick click on my network settings.

Overall I was very excited how simple the setup was and that it did not matter what brand my original wireless router was and made for a simple and affordable solution to extend my wireless network all over my home and if you are looking to do the same I highly recommend the Netgear Universal Wifi Extender and give this device One Damn Good Review!

Setup Screen Screenshots

Wireless Signal Strength (In hardest to reach area of home)


Wireless Router

 NetGear Extender

 

Watch the video review:

[youtube url=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XnnEIBqGV4″]

 

8 Total Score

PROS
  • Extend Your Network Range
  • Easy To Use
CONS
  • Setup may be hard for some that are non technical
Add your review
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Damn Good Reviews - Reviews, How-To, Demos
      Reset Password
      Compare items
      • Cameras (0)
      • Phones (0)
      Compare
      0